The Barnes County Commission met in regular session on Tuesday, September 15, 2015 with Mike Metcalf, Bill Carlblom, Cindy Schwehr, John Froelich, and Rodger Berntson present. Chairman Schwehr called the meeting to order at 8:00 a.m., the Pledge of Allegiance was recited, and the Agenda was reviewed and additions were made.

# <u>Application for Property Tax Incentives – H Anderson Concrete</u>

Betty Koslofsky, Tax Director, presented an Application for Property Tax Incentives from H Anderson Concrete requesting Payments In Lieu of Taxes on Parcel #05-1830330 in Binghampton Township 18-138-56 starting in 2016 with a 100% reduction on the building only, with the percentage decreasing 10% each year, and ending with a 10% reduction in 2025. Mike Metcalf moved to approved the Application; Bill Carblom seconded the motion. Motion carried upon roll-call vote, with Rodger Berntson voting "no".

### Abatement Hearing - Sean & Jean Magee

This hearing was recessed at the September 1, 2015 meeting, in order to provide time for Jean Magee to obtain pictures and send them to the Tax Director's office for clarification. The hearing resumed at 8:08 a.m. Betty Koslofsky, Tax Director, recommended reducing the 2015 true and full value of parcel #37-1440410 in Stewart Township from \$260,000 to \$240,200. Mike Metcalf moved to approve the recommendation; Bill Carlblom seconded the motion. Motion carried upon roll-call vote, with all members voting "yes".

### Planning & Zoning - CUP / Variance - Dick Gulmon

Betty Koslofsky, Tax Director, presented an application for a Conditional Use Permit (CUP) – Agricultural to Residential – and a Variance – Setback of 69.7' from center of subdivision road and 20' from north ownership line from Dick A Gulmon (Ashtabula Township, NW 1/4 22-142-58). John Froelich moved to approve the application; Bill Carblom seconded the motion. Motion carried upon roll-call vote, with all members voting "yes".

#### Auditor - Minutes / Raffle Permit

Mike Metcalf moved to approve the September 1, 2015 minutes; John Froelich seconded the motion. Motion carried. Rodger Berntson moved to approve the Application for a Local Permit from the Sisters of Mary of the Presentation for a raffle to be held on November 29, 2015; Bill Carlblom seconded the motion. Motion carried upon roll-call vote, with all members voting "yes".

## **Weed Officer Job Description**

Mike Metcalf moved to adopt the Weed Officer job description as presented; Bill Carlblom seconded the motion. Motion carried upon roll-call vote, with all members voting "yes".

### Water Resource District

Dale Jorissen, Water Resource District board member, informed the Commission about the Rose Slough water retention plan process and progress. John Froelich moved that Cindy Schwehr serve as the Barnes County Commission representative in an advisory capacity; Mike Metcalf seconded the motion. Motion carried upon roll-call vote, with all members voting "yes".

# Hobart Lake Phase I Cost Overrun & Time Extension

John Froelich moved to approve Amendment No. 3 of the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program Subgrant Agreement for FEMA-DR-1981 between the ND Department of Emergency Services and Barnes County dated 8 March 2014; Bill Carlblom seconded the motion. Motion carried upon roll-call vote, with all members voting "yes".

# Emergency Manager / 911 Dispatch Coordinator Resignation

Mike Metcalf moved to accept the resignation of Kim Franklin, Barnes County Emergency Manager, as of September 21, 2015; Bill Carlblom seconded the motion. Motion carried upon roll-call vote, with all members voting "yes". Rodger Berntson moved to advertise for the position of Emergency Manager / 911 Dispatch Coordinator; Mike Metcalf seconded the motion. Motion carried upon roll-call vote, with all members voting "yes". The deadline for applications will be October 2, 2015. Mike Metcalf made a motion to terminate the Joint Powers Agreement with Steele County for Provision of Emergency Management Services, due to the upcoming vacancy in the Emergency Manager position; John Froelich seconded the motion. Motion carried upon roll-call vote, with all members voting "yes". The Commission asked Holly Neuberger to be "in charge" of Dispatch during the transition period; Ms. Neuberger agreed to take on the responsibility. John Froelich moved to pay Holly Neuberger an additional \$1 per hour, effective immediately, and until further notice, for taking on the additional duties; Bill Carlblom seconded the motion. Motion carried upon roll-call vote, with all members voting "yes". John Froelich moved to compensate Kim Franklin at her current rate of pay for hours worked on or after September 21, 2015 to assist with the transition; Mike Metcalf seconded the motion. Motion carried upon roll-call vote, with all members voting "yes". Bill Carlblom moved to name Don Fiebiger as Interim Emergency Manager; Rodger Berntson seconded the motion. Motion carried upon roll-call vote, with all members voting "yes".

### **Commission Discussion**

Mike Metcalf moved to appoint Dawn Riley and Beth Didier as Barnes County's North Dakota State Fair delegates to the annual meeting on November 9, 2015; John Froelich seconded the motion. Motion carried upon roll-call vote, with all members voting "yes". The vacancy on the School Annexation & Dissolution board in District 4 is still open. The Commission discussed the Barnes County Museum's desire to purchase "Bob", the dinosaur, and funding possibilities. Options for renovating the Kathryn Dam to improve safety were discussed. The Commission discussed a letter from Brian Mindt regarding Wellness Center funding. Other discussion included: road grader rates, Sheriff's staffing, Truck Regulatory staffing, and VSO driver staffing.

With no further business, Mike Metcalf made a motion, seconded by Bill Carlblom, to adjourn the meeting. Motion carried unanimously and the meeting adjourned at 11:05 a.m.

Cindy Schwehr, Chairman Barnes County Commission

Beth M Didier Barnes County Auditor